Pinaca / Pinnac


Pinaca / Pinnac is very delicious and Goan Traditional Sweets, whenever i  prepare its just refresh the memories of my Grandmother, and i must say her  handmade was just terrific and very Traditionally she use to prepare on grinding stone which we use to relish every  bite. With black tea / milk tea.

Here i share my grandmother recipe i follow till date, but i prepare with blender  (mixer), if you has grinding stone do try and relish the delicious sweet. It’s just simple roasted rice powder, pyramid plam jaggery, fresh grated coconut, with some cardamon, incorporate well and fold into croquette /cylindrical shape or any shape of desire and just relish every bite.

So lets get start with the ingredients and procedure.

Ingredient :

250 grams rice flour

150 grams fresh coconut  

1 Pyramid Goan Plam Jaggery (150 Grms.)

1/ 2 tsp Cardamon Powder.

3 tbsp. Water to blend Jaggery & Coconut.

image

Method :

1. Wash and dry rice completely,     take a pan and dry roast the rice till it turn brown don’t roast too dark brown.

2. Leave to cool completely and than blend to fine powder (keep a side some flour to roll pinaca).

3. Crush the jaggery take a blender and ground it along with the coconut and 3 tbsp. water.

4. Don’t add too much water, it has to be dry and not watery too much.

5. Take a bowl add ground rice powder, add blend jaggery and coconut and cardamon pwd.,  mix well till it incorporate well.

6. Take approximately 1 1/2 tbsp. mixture and roll in between your palms to form it into a croquette /cylindrical shape.

7. Follow the same procedure with all the remaining flour.

8. When all are done sprinkle the rice flour that was set aside and garnish with fresh grated coconut.

9. Put in air tight container and store in a cool place.and and relish with hot cuppa coffee.

image

image

Note :

1. Can adjust the jaggery according to taste.

2.  While rolling to cylindrical shape, or any other shape according to each desire i made a Goan Traditional.

3. The ground procedure can also make on grinding stone, once ground the coconut and jaggery, slowly add the rice flour and ground it taste so terrific i don’t has words to explain, my Grandmother in Goa use to prepare on grinding stone.

image

❤ Linda Ferns ❤

18 thoughts on “Pinaca / Pinnac

  1. Linda, this looks so good. i have never had Pinac before but love that flavor combination of rice flour, coconut jaggery and cardamom a lot, so I am sure I will love it! Wishing you Happy Holidays, my dear!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s my favourite and I want to try. Would be thankful if you could specify or help me with the weight of jaggery in grams. As last time I had tried a recipe but my pinaca-pinnac turned rock hard 😦

    Sushmitha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love pinnac to eat I like to give this taste for my hubby but in Mumbai wear I stay I can’t get black goal jaggery. So which jaggery can I use. I feel helpless. Feeling very bad. I want to make this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi dear Leena thank a ton and glad, I am sure you will get just confirm with friends and black jaggery is main ingredient Pinnac I m sure you will get and may ur dream come true.

      Like

Leave a Reply

